Club Play‎ > ‎Rules Committeee News‎ > ‎

May 2016 Rules Committee Message

posted May 15, 2016, 3:40 AM by BV WGC
BVWGC Members,

I have been remiss in updates from your WGC Rules Committee but we are still here and hoping to continue to help everyone with Rules questions or issues that need to addressed. The Committee members are listed in your Handbook/Directory – please contact any of us and we will do our best to help.

We would like to emphasize an addition to our Bella Visa Play Day Rules on page #8 of your Handbook. Item #5 states: “Preferred or improved lie is allowed through the green---------. The ball may be lifted and placed within 12 inches, no nearer the hole. The addition to this section reads: THE BALL IS IN PLAY WHEN PLACED, AND MAY NOT BE MOVED AGAIN TO A MORE DESIRABLE POSITION. PENALTIES MAY BE INCURRED IF THE BALL IS LIFTED A SECOND OR THIRD TIME. IF THE BALL IS CLEANED, IT MUST BE MARKED BEFORE LIFTING. IT IS ALSO IMPORTANT TO NOTE THAT WHEN YOU MOVE YOUR BALL WITHIN THE 12 INCHES, THERE IS NO DISTINCTION OF ROUGH AND FAIRWAY. IF 12 INCHES GETS YOU INTO THE FAIRWAY, LUCKY YOU. JUST BE SURE YOU ARE NOT OVER-ESTIMATING THE 12” AREA – A GOLF CLUB GRIP IS AN EXCELLENT MEASURING DEVICE.

We did have one question from members after play, concerning a ball “lost in hazard” and whether or not one absolutely must play according to the “lost ball” rule (stroke and distance). If the ball is not found in the hazard, Rule #27-2, “c” states: If it is known or virtually certain that the ball is in a water hazard (including lateral hazard), the player may proceed in accordance with Rule #26-1 “Relief for ball in water hazard”. This simply says that you are not required to replay the shot from the original position but may take 2 club lengths from where the ball last crossed the hazard and play your shot from that spot. Other options are to move back on the same line, keeping the spot where you entered the hazard between you and the green, or to replay the shot from the original position. The key words in the Rule are “KNOWN OR VIRTUALLY CERTAIN”. If this is not clearly explained, do please contact the committee to further clarify.

Please bring us your questions – we enjoy learning with you! And Happy Golfing to all of you!!

Stevie Lamar, Rules Chair
Comments