It is so hard to believe that we have come to the end of our 2013 golf season. They seem to be getting shorter every year. It is my hope that each of you enjoyed our WGC play days as much as I did. Our camaraderie, our friendly competition and shared love of the game make our group a truly delightful experience for me.
I am very happy to report that our entire Rules Committee will continue intact for the 2014 season. The members of the Committee continue to work on the goal of helping our WGC members understand the Rules and how they can help each of us enjoy the game even more.
Now, I must share with you a specific Rule brought to my attention just a few days ago. Rule #22, “Ball assisting or interfering with play” (pages 88 &89): I was aware of the general intention of this rule – that a ball lifted must be properly marked and correctly replaced. I did NOT know that if a ball on the green is IN MOTION, you cannot lift and mark your ball if it “might influence the ball in motion”. In other words, if a fellow player strokes his ball on the green and you realize his ball might strike your ball, you cannot mark and lift your ball. It is too late. For further details, see Rule #22-1, “Note” and Rule #22-2 “Note 2”. Penalty for breach of Rule is two strokes. Lastly, let me emphasize, this all pertains to “BALL IN MOTION”. If you are asked to mark and remove your ball prior to your fellow player’s stroke, you should do so. Your other option is to putt out and eliminate the need (and time required) to mark and lift and then replace your ball.
As always, you are encouraged to contact any member of the Rules Committee with questions or suggestions. Many thanks to WGC member Barbara Angstead for the above Rules clarification.
Even though our season has ended, we will continue to post information on our website throughout the off-season (HUGE thanks to Sandy Trigg and Sue Jacobson for all they do to maintain the site!), so keep checking the Rules Message space.
Have a great Winter!
Stevie Lamar - email: email@example.com